A Non-Microwave Dish   Leave a comment

Hello summer!!!

Well, since coming home for the summer, I have been cooking A LOT! We made homemade pasta a while ago. Very good, although we didn’t roll the dough thinly enough. But all in all, it was a great first-pasta-making experience.

And yesterday, as boredom struck once again, I made chicken and scalloped potatoes. I honestly think that this chicken was amazing.

Yum!! So, I’ve been cooking a lot of bone-in, skin-on chicken breast. It’s so easy to cook in the oven and it doesn’t dry out, which is always a good thing, if you ask me.

This is my lemon-rosemary chicken (and scalloped potatoes – my favorite!)

I make this so often, it’s ridiculous. I’m bordering on obsession. And the rosemary-lemon mixture is good on many kinds of meats.

Lemon-Rosemary Chicken

Ingredients:

1 large onion – sliced and in rings

2 lemons – 1 sliced and quartered, 1 sliced thinly

4 chicken breasts with skin and bones

1 Tablespoon dried rosemary

1/2 Tablespoon Crushed Red Pepper

Salt

Pepper

2 Tablespoons Olive Oil

4 Tablespoons Butter, cut into pieces

1//4-1/2 cup of liquid (like say, rum.. or broth.. or wine)

Process:

Lube up a big baking dish (olive oil is good. pam too). Place the chicken in the dish. Season with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, and lots o’ rosemary. Drizzle some olive oil, put the lemon slices on the chicken, the onion in the dish around the chicken (if you put it ON the chicken, it will burn — believe me, I’ve learned from personal experience). Put the liquid in the bottom of the dish (helps make a delicious sauce).

Bake at 425  F for 30-45 minutes. Honestly, I’m totally guessing on a time. I use a thermometer. When it gets to 180 F it’s done. But I also have to guess there because my thermometer is pretty bad. Sooo when the juices run clear.

Enjoy! I promise you won’t regret it 🙂

All the best,

Beccers

Posted July 17, 2010 by hungrybeccers in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

