The dish I want my (future) kids to remember me by   Leave a comment

Hey guys,

sooo I’m sorry I was gone for so long (minus the previous post.. which I had basically already written). I’ve been pretty preoccupied with switching colleges. Life changes can be pretty stressful, ya know?

Now I’m back in the Deep South where I spent my high school years. Let me tell you, after a brief stint in the Mid West, moving to the South is pretty interesting. I grew up in Europe. I like to think that I’m pretty European. But not in the cool, hip way, but in the weird, bread-obsessed, not-understanding-pop-culture-references kind of way. Makes my interactions with people pretty entertaining, I’d say. At least I hope so. So even though I spent my life within walking distance (yes, we walk) of many kinds of public transportation (whaaaaa??), I really love it in the Deep South. It’s very calm (except when I get road-rage. But that could happen anywhere, really). I like the small town (university town, mind you) feel.

Moving on to the recipe. Yayyy!! As I mentioned in the title of this post, I would really like to be remembered by a bubbling pot of delicious smelling bolognese (meat sauce).  I hope that my boyfriend’s roommates will remember me by it when The Boo (my boyfriend) moves out. I tell them this too.

Before I tell you about the ingredients I want to share some pictures of the boo’s and my trip to Sam’s Club. The size of the beef and the tomatoes is RIDICULOUS.

This is what they call tomatoes. Crazy-big tomatoes. With a coke can next to it as a means of comparison.

This is six pounds of ground chuck. Half of it is now in the freezer, protected by several layers of plastic wrap. I couldn’t find any ziploc bags..

Ingredients:

2 lbs of ground beef (or turkey)

3-4 cans of crushed/diced tomatoes (no seasoning, please)

1 lb of pasta (spaghetti, penne, or something equally delicious)

2 medium sized onions, chopped

Onion Chopping Tutorial from The Boo

(apparently I don’t do it right)

1. Cut the non-root end of the onion off

2. Cut in half. Peel.

3. Make horizontal cuts that leave about a centimeter of cut onion at the                                         root end.

4. Do the same with vertical cuts (perpendicular to the root).

5. Make cuts parallel to the root end. Yay! The onion is chopped.

*Sorry if I’m bad at explaining. It’s all the boo’s fault anyways —                                                    he’s the one becoming a chef… yeah, I’m pretty lucky 🙂

4 cloves of garlic (have I mentioned that I love garlic?), crushed and chopped

1 Tablespoon basil

2-3 Teaspoons thyme

2 Teaspoons of crushed red pepper

salt

pepper

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

Process:

Cover the bottom of a pot or pan with olive oil. When it’s hot (not to the point where the oil is smoking, please), brown the beef. Let it brown on med-high heat. While it’s cookin’, “chop” it with your utensil (i.e. wooden spoon, spatula, whatever).

When it’s nice and brown and in little pieces, add the onion. Turn the heat down to med-low to medium heat. After a few seconds add the garlic and the spices. Cook until the onion is softer and becoming a little translucent. Add the tomatoes. Cover, and let it cook on low heat for about an hour. Keep tasting every so often to adjust the seasoning or heat if necessary. The sauce should not bubble very much.

Cook the pasta according to package direction.

(Water in pot, salt in water, heat on high until it boils then add pasta).

When the pasta is done, drain it and add to the sauce.

Enjoy with parmesan and a nice drizzle of olive oil.

Yum!

Beccers

P.S. Sorry for not taking a picture of the final product, guess I forgot.

Posted July 17, 2010 by hungrybeccers in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

